Canterbury Retains the Interprovincial

On Sunday 23 September 2018 South Canterbury and Canterbury competed in the annual AC inter-provincial.

The Canterbury team was: John Yarrall, Owen Evans, Ian Campbell, Neville Turner, Leo Van Oosten, Alan Cook, Sally Jeffcott, Marguaritte Rogers (Captain), Patsy Clegg, Carol Kidd, Bruce McLay and Rosalind Thomson.

A great day was had by all. So, Basil was once again retained by Canterbury after some well fought-out games. A huge thanks to Raylene Coles and her team from the Waireka club who hosted and kept us watered and fed. A big thanks to the South Canterbury team who challenged Canterbury in every way.

The tournament was played as doubles with three 2-hour games that stopped on the bell. The winning team is the one with the greatest number of hoops. Canterbury scored 196 to 159 for South Canterbury.

The prize – Basil the ram
John Yarrall, Owen Evans, Sally Jeffcott, Ian Campbell, Neville Turner, Marguaritte Rogers (Captain), Bruce McLlay (obscured), Patsy Clegg, Leo Van Oosten, Rosalind Thomson, Alan Cook (obscured), Carol Kidd
Raylene presenting Marguaritte with Basil the Ram

2018 Inter-provincial Results