Atkins Trophy

The Atkins Competition is a Handicap Doubles Golf Croquet Tournament played over a number of Saturday mornings in the second half of the season leading to a play-off in March. It often allows an inexperienced player to be mentored by an experienced player to assist in learning tactics and stroke play.

The competition, started in the 2009/2010 season and honours Beryl and Ray Atkins who were involved in the early stages of the development of Golf Croquet in Christchurch at the Elmwood Croquet Club and then at Cashmere.

The 2018 competition is organised as four block of 9 teams each. Block play is on Friday 10, 17 and 24 February 2018 with playoffs Friday 3 and 17 March 2018.


Block results are on CroquetScores


Atkins Draw 2018.pdf


Atkins Rules 2018.pdf

Results Form

Atkins score sheet 2018.pdf
Team captains should email a copy of the results form to the CCA tournament convenor within two days of each match.

Previous winners

Year Winner Runner-up
2017/18  Neville Turner & Lesley Smith  Vilna Gough-Jones & Trina Heffernan
2015/16 Neil Williams & Alan Belcher Tom Devlin & Julie Mills
2014/15 Tony O’Donnell & Daniel Duke Galina & Bill Worley
2013/14 Tony O’Donnell & Irene McGahey Tom Delvin & Valina Gough-Jones
2012/13 Beryl Atkins & Dawn Hansen Philip Narbey & Marie Narbey
2011/12 Ross Heasley & Frank Williams  Bruce McLay & Errol Hay
2010/11 Emily Newburn & Joan Bradford  Jonathan Hart & June Lowery
2009/10 John Borner & Eileen Arnett  Jenny Clarke & Bill Down