AC and GC 2019 Silver Badges

Can you please put some thing on website about silver badges

Not sure if any thing went up bout AC, if sorry sorry for double up, if not here it is

The AC Silver Badge was played at Barrington Park Croquet Club on 2 March with 6 people, 3 in the 4-9 grade and 3 in the 10-16 grade.
The winners were Leo Van OoSten (4-9) winning 3 out of 3 games
and Kevin Cusack (10-16) winning 3 out of 3 games.

The GC Silver Badge was played in damp conditions at United on 10 March.
There were 4 people in -6 to 2, 5 people in 3 to 5, 4 people in 6 to 8 and 6 people in 9-16.
-6 to 2 was run as a double round robin with Jonathan Hart (St James Park) winning all 6 games,
3 to 5 was single block with Josh Winter (Cashmere) being the overall winner winning 3 out of 4 games.
6 to 8 was also run as a double block with Hugh Catto (Holmes Park) winner (4/6). The last game happened to be the final against Cashmere Gay Jones
9 to 16 was a single round, with Flyn Mosses Jones (Cashmere) winning all 6 games.

It is hoped to put on Croquet Scores

Secondary Schools CCA competition

The Canterbury secondary schools  GC competition was played at Barrington Park Croquet Club on Wednesday 13 March.

11 teams competed enthusiastically for the 4 places we have in the national finals being held in Canterbury on 7th and 8th September. Although skill and experience varied there was no lack of enthusiasm and everybody’s game responded to the challenges. Of those registered and eligible to qualify, the following teams have been nominated to represent Canterbury:

1. Myles Duggan & Levi Franks from Cashmere High School
2. Josh Winter & James Duggan from Cashmere High School
3. Yani Rutherford & Molly Campbell from St Margaret’s College
4. Hazel Skjellerup & Dylan Hunter from Rudolf Steiner School

Winners Levi Franks and Myles Duggan of Cashmere High School


Enter the AC and GC Silver Badge

It is time to enter the Silver Badge competition, both AC and GC.

Each club should be arranging club play to determine one player who will represent their club in the association playoff. The winner of each grade will receive a silver badge.

Details of the competitions are in Appendix 5 of the tournament Regulations on page 255 of the 2018-2019 yearbook.

AC handicap ranges are 0 to 3.5, 4 to 9, 10 to 16 and 18 to 24. The association playoff is Sunday 3 March at Barrington Park.

GC handicap ranges are -6 to 2, 3 to 5, 6 to 8 and 9 to 16. The association playoff is Sunday 10 March at Holmes Park.

See your club captain to enter your club play-off.



Josh Winter to represent Canterbury in the Don Ryelands Stars

The CCA play-offs of the Don Reyland Stars Tournament were played Sunday 17 February 2019 at Elmwood Croquet Club.

The winner was not decided until the very last round, with 5/6 people having a chance at winning the play offs coming into the last round.

The winner was Josh Winter (Cashmere) from Alan Belcher (Hornby) on net points as each had the same number of wins.

Josh will represent Canterbury in the national final to be played at the Morrinsville Croquet Club Saturday 30 and Sunday 31 March 2019. The winner receives a gold star and the runner-up receives a silver star. The Don Reylands Starts Tournament is a golf croquet handicap singles tournament played at club, association and national events.

John Hearnshaw to represent Canterbury in the Arthur Ross

The association play-offs for the Arthur Ross Memorial Event was played at Barrington Park Croquet Club on Sunday 10 February 2019.

John Hearnshaw (United) beat Leo van Oosten (Holmes Park) in hot conditions in a best-of-3 match. The game scores were 26-5, 26-5.

John will represent Canterbury in the national final of the Arthur Ross Memorial Event to be held at the Kelburn croquet club, in Wellington Friday 15 to Sunday 17 March.

The Arthur Ross Memorial Event is an AC handicap singles event where club winners compete in an association competition and the association winners compete in the national final.

There were 12 associations represented at the 2018 final that was played at Morrinsville Croquet Club.

We wish John good luck in the final.

John Hearnshaw completing a rover peel
Leo van Oosten, Jono Hart (Manager) and John Hearnshaw

World Women’s GC, GC Grade and CCA Open

WCF GC Women’s World Championship

The 2019 GC Women’s World Championship is being played at Heretaunga and Marewa croquet clubs, Hawkes Bay 2 to 9 February 2019.

United member Jenny Clarke reached the semi-final where she was beaten by Soha Mostafa of Egypt. The match went to the full five games and Soha won the final game 7-6. The other three players in the semis are all from Egypt. Thirteen of the 56-strong field are from Egypt and everyone of them made it to the 32-player knockout.

Full results are at

More information on the championship is at


The 2019 Canterbury Croquet AC Open was contested by 6 players. This entry is typical of many AC events and indicates the declining numbers of AC players in local clubs. A number of Christchurch clubs now have few if any AC players. By way of contrast, the number of GC club members continues to rise.

The Open was held at the St James Park Club in Christchurch on 2 and 3 February 2019. The lawns were running close to 12 seconds and the “Quadway” hoops were firm. These conditions were the reason for the low scores by players and the only peg outs were by runner-up Peter Parkinson (2) and the ultimate winner Ian Campbell (1).

Full results are at

CCA GC Grades

The CCA GC Grades were played on Waitangi Day, Wednesday 6 February 2019.

The premier, senior and primary grades were played at Fendalton Park Croquet Club and managed by Vilna Gough-Jones. The intermediate grade was played at Cashmere Croquet Club and was managed by Janet Scott.

The premier grade, with 6 entries, was won by Jason Hodgett (Aorangi) with Logan McCorkindale (Waireka) runner-up.

The senior grade, with 8 entries, was won by Josh Winter (Cashmere) with Joan Simpson (Aorangi) runner-up.

The intermediate grade, with 7 entries, was won by Rachel McLeod (Cashmere) with runner-up Levi Franks (Cashmere).

The primary grade, with 10 entries, was won by Flynn Moses-Jones (Cashmere) with Mark Winter (Cashmere) runner-up.

Full results can be downloaded here.

Premier grade winner Jason Hodgett (Aorangi) with Kathy Reese from BUPA – our sponsors
CCA president Owen Evans with senior grade winner Josh Winter (Cashmere)
CCA president Owen Evans with primary grade winner Flynn Moses-Jones (Cashmere)