All posts by ccacroquet

Interprovincial Tournament Win.

The interprovincial teams tournament was played in Ashburton at Waireka Club. Canterbury emerged the winner, with Nelson runner-up.

The victorious CCA team members were  Marguaritte Rogers (captain), Owen Evans, Pam Hurst, and Rosalind Thomson.

Raylene Phillips presenting Marguaritte Rogers with the trophy

Canterbury AC players selected for invitations

Three Canterbury players have been invited to compete in Croquet New Zealand’s annual invitation tournaments: Ian Campbell in the Roger Murfitt tournament, John Yarrall in the Copper Tray tournament, and CCA president, Owen Evans, in the Gold Cup.

It is some years since so many Canterbury players have been invited in these events which are limited to 8 players each.

Canterbury reps for forthcoming tournaments

The result of recent play-off matches for the forthcoming Arthur Ross (AC) and Gold & Silver Badge (GC) is that Ian Campbell (Barrington Park club) and Annette Wilson (Hornby) respectively will represent Canterbury.

The Arthur Ross tournament will be played in Christchurch (at United) for the first time, between 3 & 5 March.

The Gold & Silver Stars will be held in Wellington on 11-12 March.

Canterbury Open Tournament

2016 Canterbury Open Doubles was cancelled for the third consecutive year because of insufficient entries.

The Grades Tournament associated with the Open also has not been held for three years.

The Open Singles was held successfully on 12 November, but was contested by only four players in cold, damp conditions. Winner was Peter Parkinson of the Rangiora Croquet Club returning to competitive croquet after an absence of about 15 years. Peter defeated last year’s winner, Ian Campbell (Barrington Park) in a closely contested match to secure the Cup.

Peter  has won this tournament on two previous occasions, 1996 and 2003, and has represented New Zealand in the MacRObertson Shield international tournament.

Peter Parkinson considering his tactical options
Peter Parkinson considering his tactical options.
Tournament Manager, Tony O'Donnell presenting Peter Parkinson with the trophy.
Tournament Manager, Tony O’Donnell presenting Peter Parkinson with the trophy.

CNZ 0-3 and 4+ held in Canterbury

United Croquet Club hosted the Croquet New Zealand 0-3 and 4+ tournaments during 14-16 October. Ten players competed in the 0-3 division, and eight in the 4+.

Canterbury players featured strongly in the tournaments. The 0-3 was won by Ian Campbell (Barrington and United clubs) and the runner -up was Jono Hart (St James). The 4+ was won and not for the first time, by Leo van Oosten (Holmes Park).

Full details are available here:

United Spring Tournament

The United tournaments are a great way to start the new croquet season!

The Association Croquet tournament was held, as always, on the final weekend of September, 24-25 September 2016 at the United croquet club.

The 2016 winner was Harps Kahurangi, runner-up Jenny Clarke.

In the handicap division the winner was Pam Hurst.

The prize for the most successful 0+ contestsant was John Yarrall.



The Golf  Croquet tournament was held on 10-11 September 2016.  Winner was Edmund Fordyce, for the second consecutive year, and the runner up was Neil Williamson.

The handicap division was won by Alan Belcher, runner-up was Carolyn Fordyce.

AGM report

  1. There are changes to the Executive. See ‘Management committee’.
  2. The meeting decided that team shirts be supplied to CCA representative players, that a new format be adopted for AC interclub competition without divisions, and that delegates be invited to attend executive meetings in rotation.