Category Archives: Uncategorized

Jenny Clarke wins the Australian Open

Congratulations to Jenny Clarke who has had a great week by winning the Australian AC Open held in Cairnlea, Victoria.

She beat Australian Alison Sharpe in a four-game final.

All results are on Croquet Scores which also has commentaries on games two, three and four of the final.

Jenny and Trevor Bassett also won the Australian AC Doubles beating Alison Sharpe and Jim Nicholls in the final.

Doubles results are also on Croquet Scores.

South Island Championship – Entries and billets wanted

The CNZ South Island AC Championship will be played in Canterbury Wednesday 12 to Sunday 16 December 2018. Headquarters is United Croquet Club and other clubs may be used if required. Canterbury players are encouraged to enter. You can enter via the CNZ website.

Events will be:

  • Open Doubles
  • Open Singles
  • Singles 0 to 3
  • Singles 4 and over


Accommodation is needed for players entering the Championships.  We are canvassing players right across the country to enter this event. As you will appreciate, travelling from another part of the country to play in a croquet competition may be a fair hunk of dosh, so we can make it easier for players to enter if some kind members of our croquet fraternity could host some players as billets for this event. Please let our Accommodation Officer know what may be offered. You may charge for a billet, typically between $30 and $50. To be negotiated.
Contact Owen Evans, phone: 338 8294, email:

Interclub, Johnson and GC KO draws posted

The draws for the AC Interclub, GC Interclub, Johnson Memorial and the GC Knock-out were distributed to clubs at the Club Captains’ meeting on Saturday 22 September held at United Club.

The draws are now on the website and can be viewed online or downloaded for printing.

Details are on the web pages below:
GC Interclub begins Friday 5 October (12 Oct for division 1)

GC Knock-out begins Sunday 7 October
AC Interclub begins on Tuesday 9 October 2018
Johnson Memorial begins Saturday 13 October


Canterbury Retains the Interprovincial

On Sunday 23 September 2018 South Canterbury and Canterbury competed in the annual AC inter-provincial.

The Canterbury team was: John Yarrall, Owen Evans, Ian Campbell, Neville Turner, Leo Van Oosten, Alan Cook, Sally Jeffcott, Marguaritte Rogers (Captain), Patsy Clegg, Carol Kidd, Bruce McLay and Rosalind Thomson.

A great day was had by all. So, Basil was once again retained by Canterbury after some well fought-out games. A huge thanks to Raylene Coles and her team from the Waireka club who hosted and kept us watered and fed. A big thanks to the South Canterbury team who challenged Canterbury in every way.

The tournament was played as doubles with three 2-hour games that stopped on the bell. The winning team is the one with the greatest number of hoops. Canterbury scored 196 to 159 for South Canterbury.

The prize – Basil the ram
John Yarrall, Owen Evans, Sally Jeffcott, Ian Campbell, Neville Turner, Marguaritte Rogers (Captain), Bruce McLlay (obscured), Patsy Clegg, Leo Van Oosten, Rosalind Thomson, Alan Cook (obscured), Carol Kidd
Raylene presenting Marguaritte with Basil the Ram

2018 Inter-provincial Results

CCA Closing Day 2018

About 50 people enjoyed the hospitality of Cashmere Club on Sunday 15th April. Unfortunately it was windy in Christchurch that day but as Cashmere is so sheltered play continued right up to the home-made afternoon tea which was very welcome.

Owen and Philippa presented the trophies and certificates and Howard Pettigrew photographed the recipients.

Owen thanked Cashmere and Presidents of Clubs and his Exec, and Joan Bradford was thanked for her work over many years for keeping track of trophies and preparing certificates.

Philippa Porter
CCA Vice President

See photos and list of prizes below.
Click on any photo to scroll through the photo gallery.


Event Club Players
AC interclub Winner United Geraldine Murphy, Bruce McLay, Mary Morrison, Rosalind Thomson, Tony O’Donnell
Runner-up St James Park Graham Button, Diana Howes, Koreene Fowler, Patsy Clegg, Beryl Hart, Winston Marshall
GC interclub Div 1 Winner Hornby Neil Williams, Alan Belcher, Helen Webber, Val French
Runner-up Akaroa Philip Narbey, Dave McMillan, Maria Narbey, Ruth Walker
GC interclub Div 2 Winner Fendalton Park Andi Maitland, Esme Burt, Betty Ingelwood, Grace Leith
Runner-up Hornby Robin Brooker, Chris Wood, Karin Taemmler, Jude Belcher, Barbara McLeod, Alan Beckett
GC interclub Div 3 Winner Cashmere Tony Walker, Janet Evans, Nicky Sarson, Merv Sarso, Gary Jones, Sylvia McFarlane
Runner-up Hornby Pat Alston, Marilyn Purvis Tom Pluck, Diane Fisher, Barbara Horniblow
Johns Memorial Winner United Tony O’Donnell, Lena Metcalf, Tony Thomson
Runner-up Rangiora Neville Turner, Lyn Turner
Atkins Trophy Winner Rangiora Neville Turner, Lesley Smith
Runner-up Fendalton Park Vilna Gough-Jones, Trina Heffernan
Atkins Trophy Plate Winner Fendalton Park Gill Hindshaw, Gordon MacRae
Runner-up United John Yarrall, Pam Hurst
AC Silver Badge A Grade United John Yarrall
Intermediate United Bruce McLay
B Grade United Sally Jeffcott
GC Slver Badge Premier (-6 to 2) United Jenny Clarke
Senior (3 to 5) United Pam Hurst
Intermediate (6 to 8) Holmes Park Tim Slack
Primary (9 to 16) United Denise McLoughlin
GC Interclub Knockout Winner Rangiora Lois Pettigrew, Howard Pettigre, Merv Marsh, Lesley Smith
Runner-up Fendalton Park Linda Humphries, Julie Mills, Helen Tanblyn, Murray Tamblyn
Most Improved Player AC Sally Jeffcott
GC Jono Hart
Millenium Gold Cup United